Transition into a new home

Status
Not open for further replies.

Redkat

Hi!

Yesterday I brought home a 4 year old beardie we have named Puff. Found out the owner was only using 60 watt basking bulb, so replaced the lighting immediately. He also had him living in loose substrate, so I purchased reptile carpet and changed it out. I was just wondering what the transition is like for him, he has eaten crickets, no greens yet, and no poo, though it's only been a little over 24 hours since he's been here. He is in a 55 gallon tank that the olde owner sent along with us. I'm new to these, but have done extensive research and am confident in the setup. I also bathed him today, wanted to give him a few days to adjust, but he seemed so dry and dusty. He was active yesterday but hasn't moved today, just to r-e-a-c-h for a cricket. Am I safe to assume that the new lighting and perhaps the floor has put him off a bit? And do they get stressed? Just want to make the transition to his new home with our family the easiest. I trust the info here moreso than the past owner, seeing that I have already had to change a few things for him. Any info appreciated!

Kat

ShannyBeard

Extreme Poster
Redkat":2kvej7hg said:
Hi!